Welcome to our forums!

Sign In or Register to gain full access to our forums. Registration is free, and you'll be able to have full access to our forum, chat, ads, galleries, classifieds, blogs, and all other features of our community.

Photo
- - - - -

Pop Dog

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Gwen

Gwen

Guide Dog

• Premium Member
  • 2,314 posts
  • Interests:Art, reading, animals. Especially my dear doggies.
  • Name:Gwen

Posted 19 August 2009 - 12:09 PM

Back when I started painting portraits (this was back in the late seventies) I was very much a pop artist, doing portraits in very bright colors, and using close, quirky cropping. When I started to do dog portraits as a business a few years ago, I consciously made the decision to try to do something sort of mid way between a pop and more traditional style, since I love elements of both, and it seemed like a niche I might have to myself. But lately I have been feeling like I am not being true to myself. I am really a pop artist at heart, pure and simple. I don't really have a subtle bone in my body, and I love the bold and the bright. I just did this painting of Georgie. What do you guys think? Is this the sort of thing you might want for your own living room? Disregard the color if it is not to your taste- I could have used about any bright color here.
By the way, this painting is 18" x 24", so it is very big and in your face!

You can see it on my blog:
http://iconicdog.com/Blog/
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image Boo Boo, Pixel and Georgie

#2 OFFLINE   aandboriginals

aandboriginals

Cat Chaser

• IGW Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Name:Angela

Posted 19 August 2009 - 12:13 PM

QUOTE (Gwen @ Aug 19 2009, 12:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>