Welcome to our forums!

Sign In or Register to gain full access to our forums. Registration is free, and you'll be able to have full access to our forum, chat, ads, galleries, classifieds, blogs, and all other features of our community.

Photo
- - - - -

Fly free, sweet AB

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Linda

Linda

IGW Admin

• IGW Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,586 posts
  • Interests:My interests involve Anything and Everything IG. I have been making my own raw diet since 2006 and now am a big fan of dehydrating...now making all my dogs treats as well. I also love sewing and enjoy making reversible harness vests.

https://www.facebook.com/ReversibleHarnessVestsByLinda

http://www.igwhispers.com/forum/index.php?showforum=53
  • Name:Linda

Posted 10 November 2008 - 07:53 PM

When Nina, now 25, was in 6th grade, she desperately wanted a Sun Conure. One of her classmate's Mother bred them. Because Nina was a shy little girl, we decided a bird would be a great idea too. So, we bought her 3 month old AB. AB was the name he had....and it just stuck.

AB and Nina were always together. She would take him to bed with her and he would never poop outside the cage. They kissed and cuddled all the time..constant friends.

As the years passed, and it became time for Nina to go to college, AB went to live with my Mother, who has AB's clutchmate "AC" and her gorgeous African Grey, TRex. AB lived the life of a spoiled bird, with a view of the ocean outside of his floor to ceiling window.

Last week, AB laid an egg. I guess he was a she? It was a huge egg too. If you don't know, birds do not need to mate to lay an egg. Over the weekend, AB was not feeling well and not herself. Saturday night, she had a prolapse. Early this morning, my Mother took AB to the Vet, who said that she was "egg bound" with another huge edd, and if surgery was not attempted, she would not survive. With surgery, AB's chances were only 50/50 at best.